To ensure that all Sri Lankans benefit from the petroleum resources of the country by managing the industry in an equitable, safe and environmentally sustainable manner.


Design and monitor fiscal regimes that meet the country's evolving economic needs, matching them with a stable, efficient regulatory framework that attracts investment and encourages knowledge transfer, until the last economic reserves are produced.


The Petroleum Resources Development Secretariat (PRDS) was established under the Petroleum Resources Act, N0 26 of 2003. The mandate of the Secretariat includes discharge of such functions as are to be assigned to it from time to time, by the Cabinet of Ministers. The Secretariat shall also act for and on behalf of the State for all purposes related to Petroleum Resources Agreements entered into with the State. The PRDS has also been assigned much of the functions of the Petroleum Resources Development Committee (PRDC) which it is directed to assist through the Act.


Petroleum Resources Development Committee formulates policies and prepare plans for promoting the development of Petroleum Resources in Sri Lanka.

Mr. Upali Marasinghe – Chairman

Secretary, Ministry of Petroleum Resource Development

Dr.R.H.S. Samaratunga - Member

Secretary, Ministry of Finance

Dr.B.M.S.Batagoda - Member

Secretary, Ministry of Power & Energy

Mr.Kapila Waidyarathne - Member

Secretary, Ministry of Defence

Mr. Anura Dissanayake - Member

Secretary, Ministry of Mahawali Development & Environment

Mrs. W. M. M. R. Adhikari - Member

Secretary, Ministry of Fisheries & Aquatic Resources

Mr. Shashi Dhanatunga – Member

Ministry of Petroleum Resource Development

Mr. Dumindra Rathnayake – Member

Chairman, Board of Investment of Sri Lanka(BOI)



September 25, 2017
Strategic plan to expedite oil and gas exploration and development

August 25, 2017
Post of Director General of Petroleum Resources Development Secretariat

February 15, 2017
Secretary - Ministry of Petroleum Industries interview on ITN 28-12-2016

February 07, 2017
M2 block tender, licensing plans

Archived News
Sri Lanka includes natural gas in power planning studies
Cairn India to Make History in Sri Lanka's Petroleum Industry